Listen Live

Back in Black is an album by Australian hard rock band AC/DC. It is the seventh Australian and sixth internationally released studio album by the band.

Released on 25 July 1980, Back in Black was the first AC/DC album recorded without former lead singer Bon Scott, who died on 19 February 1980 at the age of 33, and was dedicated to him.

The band considered disbanding following Scott’s death, but they ultimately decided to continue, with encouragement from Scott’s parents, and shortly thereafter hired Brian Johnson as their new lead singer and lyricist.

Producer Robert John “Mutt” Lange, who had previously worked with AC/DC on Highway to Hell, was again brought in to produce.

The album was recorded at Compass Point Studios in Nassau, Bahamas, and Electric Lady Studios in New York, where the album was also mixed.

Back In Black was originally mastered by Bob Ludwig at Masterdisk, NY. The album was remastered and re-released in 1994, then again as part of the Bonfire box set in 1997, and as part of the AC/DC Remasters series in 2003 by George Marino.

In addition, a Dualdisc version was released in 2004, featuring the album in enhanced LPCM Stereo format and the video documentary The Story of Back in Black.

The album has sold an estimated 50 million copies worldwide to date, making it the second highest-selling album of all time, the highest-selling album by a band, the best-selling hard rock album of all-time, and the best-selling album ever released by an Australian musical act [2]. On 13 December 2007, the RIAA certified it 22× Multi Platinum, recognizing sales of 22 million in the United States.[3] This made it the fourth-highest selling album of all-time in the U.S. It has since been bumped down to the sixth-highest selling album.

Track listing

Side one

  1. Hells Bells” – 5:10
  2. Shoot to Thrill” – 5:17
  3. “What Do You Do for Money Honey” – 3:33
  4. “Given the Dog a Bone”[23] – 3:30
  5. “Let Me Put My Love into You” – 4:16

Side two

  1. Back in Black” – 4:14
  2. You Shook Me All Night Long” – 3:30
  3. “Have a Drink on Me” – 3:57
  4. “Shake a Leg” – 4:06
  5. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution” – 4:15
  • According to the official AC/DC website and most worldwide releases, track four is “Given the Dog a Bone”.[23][24] On some albums, particularly Australian releases, it is sometimes shown as either “Givin’ the Dog a Bone” or “Giving the Dog a Bone”.[25]