Listen Live

The NCAA announced it will stage all rounds of the women’s basketball tournament in one geographic area, The Associated Press reported Monday. The move follows the NCAA’s decision to hold the entire men’s basketball tournament in one place.

>> Read more trending news

San Antonio, the site of the 2021 women’s Final Four, is being considered for the entire 64-team tournament, KSAT reported. The likely spot for the men’s tournament is Indianapolis.

The move was made to help lessen the risks of COVID-19.

The NCAA has begun preliminary talks with San Antonio about hosting the tournament, the NCAA said in a statement.

“San Antonio was the perfect region for us to explore because it already has an established and fully operational local organizing committee in place for the 2021 Women’s Final Four,” Lynn Holzman, vice president of women’s basketball at the NCAA, said in a statement. “We look forward to working with Bexar County, San Antonio and the state of Texas to further determine a path for creating a special championship experience for all 64 participating school while ensuring the safest possible environment for college athletes and officials.”

“Conducting the championship in one geographic region allows for more planning and execution of safeguards that provide potential benefits for promoting the health and safety of student-athletes, the NCAA membership and all individuals involved in the championship,” Nina King, the NCAA women’s basketball committee chair and senior athletic director at Duke, said in a statement. “By making this difficult decision now, it allows for an earlier opportunity to work proactively with local public health officials within the host communities and ensures that the identified guidelines and protocols are considered for a more controlled environment.”

For the 19th consecutive year, an ESPN channel will broadcast all 63 games of the tournament, the NCAA said.

The first two rounds of the women’s tournament have been played on campus sites over the past few seasons. The top four seeds in each region were the hosts. This year’s regionals were supposed to be held in Albany, New York, Austin, Texas, Cincinnati and Spokane, Washington.

The 2020 women’s Final Four was canceled due to the pandemic. The 2019 Final Four was held in Tampa, Florida, and was won by Baylor, who defeated 2018 champion Notre Dame 82-81.

More coronavirus pandemic coverage:

>> Coronavirus: CDC acknowledges airborne transmission of COVID-19

>> Is it COVID-19, flu, cold or allergies? What is causing you to feel sick this year

>> Coronavirus: CDC updates guidance for COVID-19 testing

>> Dangerous hand sanitizer list up to more than 150 products, FDA announces

>> Wash your masks: How to clean a cloth face covering

>> Fact check: Will masks lower the oxygen level, raise the carbon dioxide in your blood?

>> How to not let coronavirus pandemic fatigue set in, battle back if it