Listen Live

CANTON, Ohio – Quarterback Peyton Manning, in his first season of eligibility, was named one of 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2021, the hall announced on Tuesday.

>> Read more trending news

Manning, defensive back Charles Woodson, wide receiver Calvin Johnson and defensive end Jared Allen top the list of modern-era player finalists, ESPN reported. All four players are in their first season of eligibility.

The new members of the Hall will be named on Feb. 6, the night before Super Bowl LV is scheduled to be played in Tampa, Florida.

The enshrinement ceremony for the Class of 2021 is currently scheduled for Aug. 8 in Canton, Ohio, reported. The Class of 2020 is scheduled on Aug. 7, the website reported.

The modern-era finalists were determined by a vote of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee. The committee whittled 130 nominees in September to 25 semifinalists in November.

The finalists include the 15 players plus senior finalist, Drew Pearson; contributor finalist, Bill Nunn; and coach finalist, Tom Flores.

Here is the list of modern-era player finalists.

  • Jared Allen, DE – 2004-2007 Kansas City Chiefs, 2008-2013 Minnesota Vikings, 2014-2015 Chicago Bears, 2015 Carolina Panthers
  • Ronde Barber, DB – 1997-2012 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • Tony Boselli, T — 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans (injured reserve)
  • LeRoy Butler, S — 1990-2001 Green Bay Packers
  • Alan Faneca, G — 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals
  • Torry Holt, WR — 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Calvin Johnson, WR – 2007-2015 Detroit Lions
  • John Lynch, FS — 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos
  • Peyton Manning, QB – 1998-2011 Indianapolis Colts, 2012-2015 Denver Broncos
  • Clay Matthews, LB – 1978-1993 Cleveland Browns, 1994-1996 Atlanta Falcons
  • Sam Mills, LB — 1986-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-97 Carolina Panthers
  • Richard Seymour, DE/DT — 2001-08 New England Patriots, 2009-2012 Oakland Raiders
  • Zach Thomas, LB — 1996-2007 Miami Dolphins, 2008 Dallas Cowboys
  • Reggie Wayne, WR — 2001-2014 Indianapolis Colts
  • Charles Woodson, DB – 1998-2005, 2013-2015 Oakland Raiders, 2006-2012 Green Bay Packers